Yobe East Senatorial by-election: APC’s Mustapha emerges victorious [See Result]

The victory in the Yobe East senatorial by-election has been clinched by Musa Mustapha, the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday. The Returning Officer, Ibrahim Ahmed Jajere, disclosed that Mustapha secured the highest number of votes.

Mustapha, representing the APC, garnered 68,778 votes, defeating his closest competitor, Aji Kolomi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who obtained 18,878 votes. The total number of votes cast was 90,949, with 88,771 votes deemed valid and 2,178 votes rejected.

Associate Professor Ibrahim Ahmed Jajere, the Returning Officer, certified the results, declaring Mustapha as the winner and elected candidate. Mustapha, also known as Coolers, previously served as the Commissioner for Finance in Yobe State.

He will fill the vacancy left by Senator Ibrahim Geidam, who currently holds the position of Minister of Police Affairs. The detailed breakdown of the election results by local government areas is as follows:

1) Bursari LG

*APC – 9,466

*PDP – 2,752

2) Damaturu LG

*APC – 11,941

*PDP – 6,693

3) Geidam LG

*APC – 6,621

*PDP – 2,310

4) Gujba LG

*APC – 11,529

*PDP – 3,037

5) Gulani LG

*APC – 12,516

*PDP – 2,198

6) Tarmuwa LG

*APC – 5,557

*PDP – 1,054

7) Yunusari LG

*APC – 11,148

*PDP – 834

In a separate re-run election at Shoye Garin Abba, Balde Polling Unit 001, in Yika Local Government Area, for the Fune/Fika Federal Constituency, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) emerged victorious, polling 93 votes while the APC did not receive any votes.